20th Paul D. Converse Marketing Symposium

Due to concerns about COVID-19 and in the interest of the health and safety of all involved, the Paul D. Converse Marketing Symposium has been postponed until Fall 2020. Please return to this page for updated information later in the summer.

The Paul D. Converse Marketing Symposium is a two-day celebration of the contributions of recipients of the 2020 Converse Awards. These distinguished individuals are recognized for their significant contributions to the theory of marketing and to the advancement of science in marketing.

The Converse Award was established by the American Marketing Association in 1946 to honor the memory and legacy of Paul Converse, a professor of business organization and operation at the University of Illinois and a pioneer in the academic study of marketing. This award is unique in that it is conferred by a national jury of scholars and practitioners rather than by local chapters.

The symposium features presentations by the award recipients and a discussion of the recipient’s contributions led by a discussant of the recipient’s choice. The symposium takes place every four years. Fortune Magazine described the recipients of these awards as being part of a “Marketing Hall of Fame.”

2020 Award Recipients

Bernard Jaworski
Claremont Graduate University

Deborah MacInnis
University of Southern California

C.W. Park
University of Southern California

Michel Wedel
Robert H. Smith School of Business


Kelsey Ohnesorge (Coordinator), Graber2@illinois.edu
Ravi Mehta (Co-Chair), MehtaR@illinois.edu
Frank Liu (Co-Chair), LiuF@illinois.edu